v2.0 default.aspx format error (and other ?)

Topics: Developer Discussion, Help
Jun 11, 2007 at 7:11 PM
Let me preface this by saying that my background is in Cold Fusion, so I apologize in advance if this is a "duh" question. I downloaded the v2.0 Starter Kit. There's a lot of great functionality included. I was struggling with the bugs of v1.0 and about to throw up my arms and build it myself from scratch.

When a user first lands on the site, the leftcolumn is displayed properly, but the news/blogs is waaaaay underneath it rather than displaying next to it on the right. I don't have a live site to show you, but after looking at some examples listed in codeplex I found this one is doing it, too: http://www.disciplesondirt.com/

On my local copy, it fixes itself after the user logs in. Any ideas? I'm using IE 6.2.

A few other little questions/comments --
1. There's no pk on the locations table.
2. I'd like the various pages to display titles other than "MySite", ex: "MySite - Forums". It seems to have no effect if I change it from "Untitled Page" to a more descriptive name. They all say "MySite".
3. Wouldn't it be better to split out the address fields into address, city, state, zip? Down the road that might help if you want to build a "download member list" section. That would make it easier to run mail merge or something like that.
3. What about error logging? How are you capturing errors?
5. I was planning on just sticking with sqlexpress because I've noticed it's free with most hosting sites. If I run out of space is it fairly easy to convert to full-blown sql server?

Thanks in advance!
Coordinator
Jun 11, 2007 at 8:21 PM
I have experienced this same sort of problem before. The problem is that the kit uses pre-defined column divs. Your screen size is probably something like 15". The problem is your screen, that's all. I would recommend messing with the lengths of the column right, column left, left block, and right block style definitions.